Contact: Jill Notini
202.872.5955 x318


WASHINGTON, DC (May 10, 2017) — The Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers (AHAM) honored several industry leaders for their contributions to the home appliance industry and to the Association during AHAM’s annual member meeting, The Next 50…, held April 30-May 2 in Washington, DC.  

 The Home Appliance Industry Leadership (HAIL) Award was presented to Paul Sikir, vice president of design engineering, Sub-Zero Group, Inc. Sikir has dedicated countless hours to volunteer leadership roles and has expanded his impact by encouraging colleagues to serve on AHAM task forces and councils. His work has been instrumental to numerous policy and technical issues across the major appliance division. Sikir held several leadership roles including AHAM Treasurer and First Vice Chair before rising to Chair the AHAM Board of Directors from 2012- 2014. He continues to serve on the AHAM Executive and Finance Committees.

 AHAM also presented the 2017 Gordon Stauffer Liston Durden Distinguished Service Award to David Kinny, product safety and reliability leader, cooking products, GE Appliances, a Haier company; Chad Strickland, director of product safety and regulatory compliance, Electrolux North America; and Jim Pelkey, design lab certification manager, Wolf Appliance, Inc.

 Pelkey has been a key contributor to AHAM’s work on cooking product safety and performance. Strickland led the critical task of chairing the CANENA project updating the North American refrigerator and freezer safety standard. Kinny has played an essential role in multiple AHAM cooking safety initiatives and led the development of AHAM’s electric cooktop safety proposal.

 AHAM presented its Emerging Leader Award, which recognizes volunteers’ important contributions to the industry, to Jeff Colyer, safety program manager-RF, GE Appliances, a Haier Company, and Sean Simmons, senior Assistant General Counsel, Electrolux Home Products. Colyer received the award for contributions related to the development of North American refrigerator safety standards. Simmons received the award for leadership and advocacy on AHAM public policy issues.

 The AHAM Chairman’s Partnership Award, which recognizes significant contributions to the Association by non-member organizations, companies and individuals, was presented to Marc Schoem, executive director, International Consumer Product Health and Safety Organization. Schoem during 40 years at the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, much of that time at the most senior levels in the Office of Compliance, was exemplary in his countless efforts to protect consumers and share his vast compliance experience with stakeholders, including AHAM and its members.

# # #


The Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers (AHAM) is a not-for-profit trade association representing manufacturers of major and portable home appliances, floor care appliances and suppliers to the industry with headquarters in Washington, DC and an office in Ottawa, ON. Visit AHAM’s website at